Bed Song

There is a storm blowing through London, and I’m all tucked up in bed listening to it rail.  It has brought me back to my childhood, where I passed many a night listening to Canadian storms blowing, while my mother read to me from my favourite book of poems, 1974’s Alligator Pie, by Dennis Lee.  This one always seemed particularly appropriate.

Bed Song

When the wind is blowing hard,
Like a giant in the yard,
I’m glad my bed is warm;
I’m glad my bed is warm.

When the rain begins to rain,
Like a giant with a pain,
I’m glad my bed is warm;
I’m glad my bed is warm.

When the snowstorm starts to howl,
Like a giant in a towel,
I’m glad my bed is warm,
I’m glad my bed is warm.

And when the giants realise,
That no one’s scared of their disguise,
They go to bed and close their eyes.

They’re glad their beds are warm;
They’re glad their beds are warm.

While not the illustration for this exact poem, I think the illustrations of this book really blew my 5 year old mind

Alligator Pie (1974) While not the illustration for this exact poem, I think the illustrations of this book really blew my 5 year old mind

Goodnight, London.

This entry was posted in Neither Here Nor There. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bed Song

  1. Nalini says:

    OH MY GAW DUDE WHY ARE THERE SO MANY PICTURES OF SHARKS ON YOUR BLOG

    • B says:

      I think I’ve become wild as I’m now free of a blogging partner with an irrational fear of sharks. Its corrupted me. But I suppose its also a touching homage…?

  2. Nalini says:

    A homage to make you clutch your blankets (alternatively, poop your pants)

  3. Susanne says:

    I grew up in Halifax around then too, before moving to Dublin, Ireland. My parents knew Dennis Lee and he read me this poem (as well as Alligator Pie!) in 1975. I still have the two signed books (Alligator Pie and Nicholas Knock & Other People). My favorite is Ookpik.
    Found your post tonight because I wanted to look up this poem – via my iPhone – from the comfort of my bed, as the rain and wind howl over head. Like a giant in a towel.

Leave a Reply

