Camino de Santiago: What to Bring

So I’ve been packing and repacking for the camino – and I’ve got myself steady at 6kg at the moment, probably a little less.

So what am I bringing?

  • 1 pair flip flops, 1 pair walking shoes (not pictured)
  • 1 rain poncho, 1 emergency blanket (both not picture)
  • 1 sleeping bag liner, 1 bed bug sheet
  • 1 travel towel, 1 bottle all purpose shampoo/laundry etc soap
  • 1 pair windproof trousers, 1 pair shorts
  • 1 long sleeved shirt, 1 windproof light jacket
  • 1 t-shirt, 1 tank top
  • 2 pairs lining socks, 2 pairs merino wool hiking socks
  • 1 portable clothesline, 1 universal bath plug, 1 headlamp
  • 1 sarong (useful for EVERYTHING), 1 pair of pyjamas
  • 1 canvas tote
  • 1 journal, 1 copy of the bhagavad gita, maps of the walk
  • 1 pilgrim’s passport, regular passport, 2 pens
  • 1 sporknife (spoon/fork/knife combo), 1 water bottle
  • ipod, mobile, camera and requisite chargers
  • Toiletries: comb, vaseline, body butter, tiger balm, anti-blister balm, compeed, antihistamines and antihistamine cream, tea tree oil, sunscreen, painkillers, toothbrush, toothpaste, deoderant, plasters, bug spray

The places where I haven’t invested in good kit:

  • raingear/waterproofs.  My boots are waterproof and I have a decent compact poncho, but I’m gambling on summer weather.
  • sleeping bag – many pilgrim’s hostels don’t provide blankets, and I’m also gambling that it won’t be too cold at night.
  • sleeping mat – I’m hoping there will be beds left in most places, and I won’t have to sleep on the floor.
  • Leatherman tool and decent sunglasses.  I really really want a leatherman – but I’m trying to do this on the cheap – so it’ll have to wait. :(
This entry was posted in Neither Here Nor There, Safaris, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Camino de Santiago: What to Bring

  1. Ivar Rekve says:

    I hope you have a great Camino!

    One thing that I do not see on your list is earplugs. Why you need them? You will be sleeping with at least 3 or 4 snorers each night (if you sleep in albergues).

    Buen Camino!
    Ivar

    • B says:

      Hola Ivar,

      I am definitely bringing earplugs – they just haven’t been put in my bag just yet. You are so right I will need them! Gracias por tus consejos.

  2. B says:

    Things I brought I didn’t need:
    universal sink stopper, clothesline, anti-blister balm, bug spray, anti-histamines
    if I went again I’d bring my kindle, extra pairs of socks (1 more) and one more pair of shorts/lightweight trousers beyond my pyjamas

  3. Mark Brown says:

    So what of that lay would you leave out for the next trip?

Leave a Reply

