Its Fine, Most of the Time

A new song – this one about that tiny bit of melancholy that you didn’t even know you had.

I wrote this song without intending to.  I had been (and am still in the process) of writing a silly song about online dating entitled “I want to date your online profile (but its obvious thats not you)” about the highs and lows of searching for love through a keyboard. (current favourite lyric from that effort: “you interrupt me, try to one-up me – and thats something your online profile would never do.”  But I digress.)

But somehow, while writing that silly song another feeling came – that frustration at searching for what is just out of reach, pining for the unavailable…all simmering away in a way you didn’t even know bothered you until you write a poignant song about it all.  In that sense its lovely as I learned a bit more about myself, on the other hand I can’t help but feel its a bit overdramatic or at least seperate from me and how I’m actually feeling.   And then I think the mediocre men who collectively inspired it probably are unworthy of the lovely final product.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Its Fine, Most of the Time

  1. RH says:

    You know what? I’m going to go and write a song about you now, except it’s going to be loud, and horrible, and I’ll be shouting and playing some nasty instrument like a Bontempi organ. I’m going to sing about how you picked your nose during our date when you thought I wasn’t looking, or how you laugh like a horse. I know we only met once, but you were definitely The One for me, and I’m still willing to forgive you despite all your faults and despite this song. Please answer my emails.

Leave a Reply

