Congratulations

Pickles
iStockphoto via NPR

My sweet-natured mother sends me sheer tons (or tonnes, as B gets to say. Lucky duck) of articles via email. They generally fall into one or two categories I have chosen to call Look, The President is a Dangerous Moron and Look Who Has a Rhodes Scholarship! Not You.

Many of these come from npr.org, and since my mother haunts the website, I wasn’t surprised to see another article from it in my inbox last week. But this, dear readers, was different.

Something Old, New, Pickled and Blue,” reads the title of Molly Wizenberg’s July 25 column. Some of you hoarier internetters may know Molly from her blog, Orangette, which I’ve always thought exudes a vintage kind of sweetness. I mean that wholly as a compliment: reading Molly’s thoughts on food, love, and life, not to mention seeing her photographs, makes me somehow wish that I was a wholesome soul who ate hoarhound candy and wiped my face with gingham handkerchiefs.

The article concerns Molly’s discovery of all things pickled and briny, and the person who helped her do so: her new husband, Brandon. There are recipes tacked to the story’s end, including one for pickled prunes with orange zest that I can’t wait to try. Each of the recipes is from a dish Molly and Brandon prepared themselves and served at their wedding—yowza.

Heartfelt congratulations to the both of them!

Here’s the one for pickled prunes. I couldn’t resist reprinting the thing.

Pickled Prunes with Orange Zest (courtesy of Molly Wizenberg)

Makes about 3 cups.

Ingredients

1 pound pitted prunes

1 cup red wine vinegar

1 cup granulated sugar

Zest of half an orange (zest should be matchstick size)

1 bay leaf

1 tablespoon pickling spice

Pinch red pepper flakes

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a medium-sized, heavy saucepan, and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce the heat to medium, and cook for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Reduce the heat to low, and continue to cook gently until the liquid has reduced to a thick syrup. Cool to room temperature. Transfer to 1-quart, air-tight container and chill. Serve cold or at room temperature.

These pickles will keep, chilled, for at least 2 weeks.

This entry was posted in Neither Here Nor There, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Congratulations

  1. B says:

    The London summer (or lack thereof) is getting to me in more ways than one, dear N. Like a goose prematurely migrating for winter, I’ve been feeling an undeniable urge to pickle, can and preserve in a way I don’t normally feel until mid-october.
    Anyone know where I can buy preserving jars on the cheap in London?

    B

Leave a Reply

