Green Tomatoes Tickle Me Pink

The tomatoes in my garden are beginning to ripen!!!

cherry tomatoes

Look at those little nubules of amazing sweet flavour with their baby peach fuzz. I want to hug and kiss them and sing to them before bed.

In reality, I’ve ignored them, planted them too close together, diddled them with excessive force to ensure pollination, and let them get droopy from too much sun and too little water.

green tomatoes

I also left them for more than a month when I headed off to Canada and New York City, so really, I’m amazed they survived at all. The peas and lettuce didn’t.

More green tomatoes

Although I was completely tempted to pick them and make fried green tomatoes, I have waited and already used my little personal tomato dispensary for several delicious (if not amazingly original) dishes.

Oh, and did I mention they had aphids as well? They sure are hearty little buggers.

Stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Neither Here Nor There. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Green Tomatoes Tickle Me Pink

  1. Karen says:

    Haha, “diddled.”

  2. Liz says:

    Beautiful. What sort of things are you using them to make?

    Liz

  3. B says:

    If you look at the next post – party pooper pea crostini – I used them there.
    I also used them in a lovely salad with goat’s cheese and jamon serrano. Mostly though, I’ve been eating them plain. They are so much sweeter and more delicious than regular tomatoes.

    B

Leave a Reply

