Shrove Tuesday

Crepes

Yesterday morning, my flatmate K burst into my room while I was blow-drying my hair, yelling gibberish nonsense words: “Mardi Gras!” “Fat Tuesday!” “Pancakes!”

Her reward was my open-mouthed confused silence — confused, I gaped at her, my hair dryer still raised halfway up to my head. I even wondered for a moment if she was playing some kind of word association game with me.

K, in her sweet excitement, tried again: “Pancakes!”

My power of speech returned. “K! It’s really early in the morning to be yelling random words at me!” I exclaimed.

K slowly explained. Fat Tuesday and Mardi Gras are also referred to as Shrove Tuesday (who knows why!), and Shrove Tuesday can also be known as Pancake Tuesday. My confused vision of Mardi Gras revelry conjoined with images of a Denny’s breakfast special faded. K wanted to eat pancakes, and she wanted me to help her do it.

 

I originally sent a flurry of e-mails at work proclaiming my need for bacon, scrambled eggs and maple syrup with my pancakes. But as the day wore on, my initiative to make home-made pancakes on a weeknight waned. In London, you can buy crȇpes in pre-made packages (a pretty awesome discovery for a North American), and I decided that some kind of creamy, cheesy, broccoli crȇpe would make me a happy kitty. In addition,  I discovered pre-made packages of Scotch pancakes at the giant Sainsbury’s close to my house, which turned out to be pretty good substitutes for fluffy North American pancakes. We ate them for dessert with maple syrup.

Long live Pancake Tuesday!

Free-range Turkey, Broccoli, Spinach and Mushroom Crȇpes with Cheese

1 package pre-made savoury crȇpes

2 cups spinach

4 mushrooms, sliced

1 free range turkey breast, chopped

1 head of broccoli, cut in florets

125 ml double cream

1 chicken bouillon cube (crumbled)

3 tbsps water (optional)

2 tbsps flour

½ cup grated cheddar cheese

2 tbsps olive oil

Heat the oil on medium high heat. Place the chopped turkey, broccoli and mushrooms in when hot and sauté. Sprinkle the crumpled bouillon cube over the mixture and when slightly brown add spinach and cream. Cover and let simmer for 2-3 minutes. To thicken the mixture, sprinkle flour over and stir. Let simmer for 1 minute and repeat the process as necessary until you have a nice gravy-like sauce.

Preheat the oven to 180ºC. In an ovenproof baking dish place a crepe, spoon the turkey mixture inside and roll. Repeat until all crepes are covered. Sprinkle grated cheese overtop, bake for 10-15 minutes until crepes are warmed through and cheese is melted.

Serve warmed Scotch pancakes with maple syrup for dessert.

Scotch Pancakes

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shrove Tuesday

  1. N says:

    Mmmmm. I’ve been trying to cook with turkey more often, and this looks like a great way to do it. Thanks, B!

Leave a Reply

