My money and my mouth

“Hotshot greens caught wasting heat

Thermal images of the residences of 10 high-profile green campaigners found that their heat loss was either worse or no better than that found in the average family home. “ 

This reminds me of walking into the kitchen at work on Friday to find someone had attached a post-it note to my sugar snap peas from Guatemala that said “air miles!” 

It threw me into a fit of rage.

Its all well and good to practice what you preach, and those of us who work in sustainable development perhaps should try harder than others to set a good example.  But there is a fine line between setting a good example and having your every decision scrutinised to some ridiculous standard when all you want is a healthy snack on a Friday afternoon.

If my mystery post-it note writer had decided to go through every single item in our communal work fridge and tick off “non fairtraide” and “unorganic” or “filled with toxic preservatives”, and finish what they started, my air miles sin is no worse than anyone elses.  But they didn’t.  They only attacked my sugar snap peas, and it pissed me off.  Perhaps my anger is a defensive reaction for forgetting to even look at the label’s country of origin, but I mean, aren’t we getting into murky ‘cast the first stone’ type territory?

So I felt sympathy with Boris Johnson and Gwyneth Paltrow when I read the above article.  Poor rich celebrity/politicians, I understand you can’t be perfect either!

This entry was posted in Political Rant. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My money and my mouth

  1. Nalini says:

    That is such a rude and amazingly stupid thing to do! (And you could easily counter this amazingly stupid thing that was done to you by pointing out that the Post-it itself is no local product.)

  2. Toffeeapple says:

    Rightly enraged I’d say. I’d have been livid too.

  3. jean says:

    unless that person only eats raw vegetables that he or she grows in his or her own excrement, he or she is a twerp.

  4. jean says:

    (notice how my comment was gender-neutral and thus politically correct, howver)

Leave a Reply

